Shelves of multi-coloured books

The Yeovil Literary Prize has closed for 2021, the judges are at work, and the nervous wait for entrants has begun.

Traditionally run from January to May each year, the Yeovil Literary Prize raises funds to help the YCAA support young people training for careers in the creative and performing arts.  There are categories for ‘Novel’, ‘Short Story’, ‘Poetry’ and ‘Writing Without Restriction’, and it attracts a wide range of entries from across the globe.

This year, the competition will be judged by four outstanding representatives of the literary world:

  • NovelsHellie Ogden of leading literary agency Janklow & Nesbit.  She featured in the Bookseller Rising Stars List and was shortlisted for the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize.  Hellie represents a number of Sunday Times bestsellers and award-winning writers across genres.
  • Short Stories – Popular author and ghostwriter Ayisha Malik, who was shortlisted for both the Asian Women of Achievement Awards and Marie Claire’s Future Shapers’ Awards.
  • PoetrySean Borrodale, renowned poet and creative writer.  His first collection of poetry, ‘Bee Journal’, was shortlisted for the 2012 Aldeburgh First Collection Prize, the Costa Poetry Book Award and the T. S. Eliot Prize.
  • Writing Without Restriction – Award-winning young adult and children’s author Steve Voake,  He is also a senior lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University and a tutor for the Arvon Foundation.

Yeovil Literary Prize results will be published on the following dates:

  • 15th August 2021 – The longlist is published on
  • 1st September 2021 – The shortlist is published on
  • 14th September 2021 – The winners be notified by letter or email and listed on our website.

As well as receiving a cash prize, winners will be invited to take part in a special event at the Yeovil Literary Festival.

To stay up-to-date with the Yeovil Literary Prize and find out how the YCAA uses the money raised, follow the Yeovil Community Arts Association on Facebook or @YCAAnews on Twitter.