YCAA is delighted to announce the winners of its 2020 Yeovil International Literary Prize.

The Yeovil International Literary Prize is an annual writing competition open to writers around the world.  The four categories – Short Story, Novel, Poetry and Writing without Restriction – offer a variety of creative opportunities and previous winners have gained the attention of agents and publishers as a result of their success with the prize.

The 2020 winners were Sophie Forsyth (Novel), Martin Phillips (Short Story), JD Sparkes (Poetry) and Dalvinder Ghaly (Writing without Restriction).  The Western Gazette Local Writer Prize went to short story writer Louise Green of Yeovil.  A full list of all the winners and highly commended entrants can be found on the Yeovil Literary Prize website.

2020’s entries came from over 40 different countries and saw an increase in novels, suggesting many authors used Covid-19 lockdowns to produce more in-depth work.  The high quality of the writing made picking the winners a considerable challenge for this year’s judges; journalist and broadcaster Paul Blezard, Susan Sandon, MD of Cornerstone, successful poet Caroline Gilfillan, and Jessica Axe, director of White Lion Publishers.

The Yeovil International Literary Prize 2021 will open for entries on 01/01/2021.  For details, see www.yeovilprize.co.uk.